WILD TIMES by Susan Robb

In April 2014, artist Susan Robb embarked on a five-month journey from Mexico to Canada on the 2,650-mile Pacific Crest Trail. Wild Times is a proposition to you to seek out and explore your own wildness by participating in a series of workshops, classes, lectures and self-guided activities led by a diverse cast of Wild Times specialists.

Through Wild Times, Robb offers her body and work as a conduit between visitors to the Frye Art Museum and the wilderness through which she is travelling, as a way to cultivate the wild terrain that resides in us all. Using the trail as a nomadic studio, and her experiences as inspiration and medium, Robb is creating digital works—photos, videos, and 3D files—periodically sending them to a series of West Coast art venues, including the Frye Art Museum.

The programs and online activities will enable visitors to serve as collaborators—interacting with the project, with Robb, and the broad Wild Times community.

Upcoming Events

Canceled
Meet Me at the Movies | Frye Art Museum
Meet Me at the Movies | Frye Art Museum

Sunday, February 17 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Jazz in the City | Michael Powers

Tuesday, February 19 1:00 – 2:30 pm
Meet Me at the Movies | Rose Theatre

Wednesday, February 20 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Thursday, February 21 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Friday, February 22 10:30 am – 12:00 pm
Meet Me at the Movies | BIMA

Saturday, February 23 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Oil Painting in the French Impressionist Tradition
Valerie Collymore

Wednesday, February 27 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Wednesday, February 27 2:00 – 3:00 pm
here:now Gallery Tour

Thursday, February 28 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Rescheduled: Michelangelo’s Passionate Friendships
Rebecca Albiani

Thursday, February 28 7:00 – 8:00 pm
Rescheduled: Michelangelo’s Passionate Friendships
Rebecca Albiani

Friday, March 1 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Friday, March 1 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Rescheduled: Michelangelo’s Passionate Friendships
Rebecca Albiani

Saturday, March 2 2:00 – 3:00 pm
Ladies Musical Club 2018-2019

Tuesday, March 5 2:00 – 3:30 pm
here:now Gallery Tour

Wednesday, March 6 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Thursday, March 7 6:30 – 8:00 pm
Dementia & Aging in the 21st Century
Dr. Allen Power

Saturday, March 9 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Introduction to Asian Brush Calligraphy
Lois Yoshida

Tuesday, March 12 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, March 13 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Wednesday, March 13 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Thursday, March 14 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
The Taj Mahal
Rebecca Albiani

Thursday, March 14 7:00 – 8:00 pm
The Taj Mahal
Rebecca Albiani

Friday, March 15 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
The Taj Mahal
Rebecca Albiani

Friday, March 15 7:00 – 9:30 pm
Performance + Exhibition Reception
Gretchen Frances Bennett: Air, the free or unconfined space above the surface of the earth

Wednesday, March 20 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Thursday, March 21 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Saturday, March 23 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Printmaking: Intaglio Drypoint
Kim Van Someren

Wednesday, March 27 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Wednesday, March 27 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Wednesday, March 27 2:00 – 3:00 pm
here:now Gallery Tour

Tuesday, April 2 2:00 – 3:30 pm
here:now Gallery Tour

Wednesday, April 3 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Thursday, April 4 7:00 – 8:30 pm
Tschabalala Self in Conversation
TSCHABALALA SELF + KEMI ADEYEMI

Friday, April 5 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Saturday, April 6 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Sketching for Journals with Watercolor and Ink Pen
Bruce Edwards

Saturday, April 6 2:00 – 3:00 pm
Ladies Musical Club 2018-2019

Tuesday, April 9 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, April 10 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Thursday, April 11 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Elisabeth Vigée Lebrun, Painter to the Queen
Rebecca Albiani

Thursday, April 11 7:00 – 8:00 pm
Elisabeth Vigée Lebrun, Painter to the Queen
Rebecca Albiani

Friday, April 12 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Elisabeth Vigée Lebrun, Painter to the Queen
Rebecca Albiani

Saturday, April 13 2:00 – 3:00 pm
Seattle Classic Guitar Society 2018-19

Thursday, April 18 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Saturday, April 20 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Graphic Design
Kate Dobson

Sunday, April 21 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Jazz in the City | Tor Dietrichson

Wednesday, April 24 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Wednesday, April 24 2:00 – 3:00 pm
here:now Gallery Tour

Wednesday, April 24 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Saturday, April 27 2:00 – 4:00 pm
The Paths of Sculptors: Angela Gregory, James Washington, and Mimi Miles
Nancy Penrose, LaVerne Hall, and Mimi Miles

Wednesday, May 1 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Friday, May 3 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Saturday, May 4 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Playing With the Accordion
Bonnie Thompson Norman

Saturday, May 4 11:30 am – 1:00 pm
Meet Me at the Movies | Frye Art Museum

Saturday, May 4 2:00 – 3:00 pm
Ladies Musical Club 2018-2019

Tuesday, May 7 1:00 – 2:30 pm
Meet Me at the Movies | Rose Theatre

Tuesday, May 7 2:00 – 3:30 pm
here:now Gallery Tour

Wednesday, May 8 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Wednesday, May 8 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Thursday, May 9 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Romaine Brooks
Rebecca Albiani

Thursday, May 9 7:00 – 8:00 pm
Romaine Brooks
Rebecca Albiani

Friday, May 10 10:30 am – 12:00 pm
Meet Me at the Movies | BIMA

Friday, May 10 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Romaine Brooks
Rebecca Albiani

Saturday, May 11 1:00 – 3:00 pm
Black Radical Imagination: Fugitive Trajectories
Jheanelle Brown and Darol Olu Kae

Tuesday, May 14 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, May 15 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Thursday, May 16 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Saturday, May 18 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Basics of Plein Air Landscape Painting
Jim Lamb

Saturday, May 18 2:00 – 3:00 pm
Seattle Classic Guitar Society 2018-19

Wednesday, May 22 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Wednesday, May 22 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Wednesday, May 29 2:00 – 3:30 pm
here:now Gallery Tour

Wednesday, May 29 2:00 – 4:00 pm
here:now Art-Making Class and Gallery Tour

Sunday, June 2 1:30 – 3:00 pm
The Age of Love

Tuesday, June 4 2:00 – 3:30 pm
here:now Gallery Tour

Wednesday, June 5 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Friday, June 7 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Tuesday, June 11 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Thursday, June 13 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Late Turner
Rebecca Albiani

Thursday, June 13 7:00 – 8:00 pm
Late Turner
Rebecca Albiani

Friday, June 14 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Late Turner
Rebecca Albiani

Sunday, June 16 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Jazz in the City | Thomas Marriott

Wednesday, June 19 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, June 20 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Wednesday, June 26 2:00 – 3:30 pm
here:now Gallery Tour

Friday, July 5 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Tuesday, July 9 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, July 17 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, July 18 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Wednesday, July 31 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Friday, August 2 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Tuesday, August 13 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, August 14 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, August 15 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Sunday, August 18 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Jazz in the City | Geoffrey Castle

Wednesday, August 28 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Friday, September 6 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Tuesday, September 10 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, September 11 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, September 19 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Wednesday, September 25 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Friday, October 4 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Tuesday, October 8 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, October 9 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, October 17 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Sunday, October 20 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Jazz in the City | Barbie Anaka

Wednesday, October 23 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Friday, November 1 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Wednesday, November 6 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Tuesday, November 12 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, November 20 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, November 21 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Wednesday, December 4 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Friday, December 6 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Tuesday, December 10 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Sunday, December 15 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Jazz in the City | Duende Libre

Wednesday, December 18 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, December 19 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Wednesday, January 1 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Friday, January 3 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Tuesday, January 14 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, January 15 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, January 16 5:30 – 6:30 pm
Third Thursday Happy Hour Tour

Wednesday, January 29 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Friday, February 7 10:30 – 11:45 am
Small Frye: Storytelling + Art
In Partnership with Seattle Children's Theatre

Tuesday, February 11 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Alzheimer's Café at the Frye

Wednesday, February 12 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Mindfulness Meditation

Hack Your Wild

Participate in Wild Times through online activities designed as a lens to see the world anew. Throughout the Wild Times hike, Susan Robb will post Hack Your Wild prompts at wildtimesproject.com.

Wild Times tablets in the Museum provide access to the prompts. Gallery Guides are on hand to provide assistance for using the tablets on Thursdays from 3–6 pm.