WILD TIMES by Susan Robb

In April 2014, artist Susan Robb embarked on a five-month journey from Mexico to Canada on the 2,650-mile Pacific Crest Trail. Wild Times is a proposition to you to seek out and explore your own wildness by participating in a series of workshops, classes, lectures and self-guided activities led by a diverse cast of Wild Times specialists.

Through Wild Times, Robb offers her body and work as a conduit between visitors to the Frye Art Museum and the wilderness through which she is travelling, as a way to cultivate the wild terrain that resides in us all. Using the trail as a nomadic studio, and her experiences as inspiration and medium, Robb is creating digital works—photos, videos, and 3D files—periodically sending them to a series of West Coast art venues, including the Frye Art Museum.

The programs and online activities will enable visitors to serve as collaborators—interacting with the project, with Robb, and the broad Wild Times community.

Upcoming Events

Saturday, September 25 11:00 am – 2:00 pm
Community Day

Wednesday, September 29 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Virtual Mindfulness Meditation

Tuesday, October 5 1:00 – 2:00 pm
Virtual Artwork Discussion | The Harvest

Wednesday, October 13 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Virtual Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, October 14 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Rosa Bonheur | Virtual Lecture
Rebecca Albiani

Wednesday, October 27 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Virtual Mindfulness Meditation

Wednesday, November 10 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Virtual Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, November 11 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Preston Singletary | Virtual Lecture
Rebecca Albiani

Wednesday, November 24 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Virtual Mindfulness Meditation

Tuesday, December 7 1:00 – 2:00 pm
Virtual Artwork Discussion | Together

Wednesday, December 8 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Virtual Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, December 9 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Hendrick Avercamp and the Dutch Winter Landscape | Virtual Lecture
Rebecca Albiani

Wednesday, December 22 12:30 – 1:00 pm
Virtual Mindfulness Meditation

Thursday, January 13 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Beatrix Potter | Virtual Lecture
Rebecca Albiani

Sunday, January 16 2:00 – 3:00 pm
Curator Tour: Duane Linklater
Amanda Donnan

Thursday, February 10 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Wabi-sabi | Virtual Lecture
Rebecca Albiani

Thursday, March 10 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
"Special Reservations": Elizabeth Catlett | Virtual Lecture
Rebecca Albiani

Thursday, April 14 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Bridgerton Design | Virtual Lecture
Rebecca Albiani

Thursday, June 9 11:00 am – 12:30 pm
Romare Bearden (1911-1988) | Virtual Lecture
Rebecca Albiani

Hack Your Wild

Participate in Wild Times through online activities designed as a lens to see the world anew. Throughout the Wild Times hike, Susan Robb will post Hack Your Wild prompts at wildtimesproject.com.

Wild Times tablets in the Museum provide access to the prompts. Gallery Guides are on hand to provide assistance for using the tablets on Thursdays from 3–6 pm.